NO END TO VTU’S PROBLEMS, Going worst day by day

While the Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU) thought it had settled the issues of students by introducing “One-Time exit scheme” which is said to benefit 20,000 students who are in the Non-CBCS scheme (2010 scheme), it looks like the varsity has stumbled upon a glitch yet again.

A student of VTU has now moved the High Court of Karnataka in this regard.

Branded Shoes @ Flat 70% off @ Flipkart Big Billion Days (Last Day) – Click Here

The reason: For students who joined the 2010 regulation scheme and failed to obtain eligibility during the next academic year, VTU introduced a scheme called CBCS in 2015. In this scheme, students who were admitted to the 3rd and 4th semester had written this examination.

The student who moved this case to the High Court said this “One-time exit scheme” is not applicable for students who joined in the 2014 batch (Non-CBCS) and sent to the CBCS scheme in 2015.

It might be recalled that the VTU by notification dated 13th September 2017 introduced ‘one-time exit scheme’. A student of VTU said, “The students who are admitted under Non-CBCS (2010) and subsequently joined CBCS scheme for 3rd and 4th semester were denied benefit of the notification.”

The High Court on Wednesday, by an interim order dated 20th September 2017, granted permission to file an undertaking before the due date subject to the result of the writ petition. The students similarly placed may approach their colleges to seek permission.

However, there are four types of batches of students:

Type 1: 2010 scheme or Non-CBCS or students who were admitted before 2014.

Type 2: 2014 scheme students (who were later shifted to the 2010 scheme)
This includes students who got a year back in the first year of 2014 scheme and later shifted to 2015 scheme or CBCS. So currently, these students are studying in CBCS.

This also includes students who cleared the first year of 2014 scheme and later shifted to 2010 scheme.

Type 3: The 2015 scheme students or CBCS students. As per the exit scheme rule, only 2010 scheme students are eligible. i.e., students who are in 2010 scheme from the beginning.

An expert also said, “If a scheme is introduced in the university, it should stay for eight years. Though a student joined in 2014, the scheme period should be there for eight years.”


Source – Banglore Mirror

Leave a Reply